This is something I wrote when I had a minor-key Franz Schubert waltz stuck in my head, and when I was driving in the country as the sun set. I pretended I was in a music video. Enjoy.


Sun shrinks from the sky;

Night crowds overhead.

Shadows catch the eye;

Sunbeams far have fled.

Lord, give us peaceful hearts;

Make us wise tonight.

Help us repel Satan’s darts,

Grant us safe passage to light.

*

Fire burns too low;

Stars burn far too high.

Winds do sadly blow;

“Sadly,” for so am I.

God, please look down on me;

Send me Your peace tonight.

Nevermore frown on me,

Grant me safe passage to light.


Enjoy? Comment below!

Original poem by KiWi. Copyright 2017.

2 thoughts on “Melancholy Sunset Poem

Leave a Reply

